Dear AP, Sports Illustrated, Sporting News, BigTen, NCAA, Home Depot, et al:

An independent inquiry has found that several Penn State officials, including Paterno "failed to protect against a child sexual predator harming children for over a decade." The report concluded that Paterno, along with the university's president, athletic director and a vice president, "concealed (Jerry) Sandusky's activities from the Board of Trustees, the University community and authorities."

In addition, the report said that the four men "exhibited a striking lack of empathy for Sandusky's victims by failing to inquire as to their safety and well-being" and that they "empowered Sandusky to attract potential victims to the campus and football events by allowing him to have continued, unrestricted and unsupervised access to the University's facilities and affiliation with the University's prominent football program."

Continuing to have your organization's name associated with Joe Paterno disgraces you. You should immediately posthumously strip Paterno of the award(s) you bestowed, including during the time he was covering up for Jerry Sandusky's criminal abuse of young boys.

Do not think that we will overlook your praise and recognition of Joe Paterno or forget it. We are not Penn State.

Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year 1986
Amos Alonzo Stagg Coaching Award (United States Sports Academy (USSA)) 1989, 2001
Amos Alonzo Stagg Award (AFCA) 2002
AFCA Coach of the Year 1968, 1978, 1982, 1986, 2005
Associated Press College Football Coach of the Year Award 2005
Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award 1981, 2005
Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year 1978, 1982, 1986
George Munger Award (Div. I Coach of the Year) 1990, 1994, 2005
Paul "Bear" Bryant Award 1986
Sporting News College Football Coach of the Year 2005
The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award 2005
Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award 1972, 1994, 2005
Dave McClain Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year 1994, 2005, 2008
NCAA Gerald R. Ford Award 2011
College Hall of Fame - 2006
Sporting News' 50 greatest coaches of all time (No. 13) - 2009